BOGUS HR Complaint Filed against Me by Team member - What are my rights

I am a Team Lead for a very large DoD company, I work as a consultant in IRAQ, I am the Team Lead.  One of my team filed a Bogus HR complaint against me.  I have not seen the complaint nor seen the response from my HR to the allegations.

My Manager and his Boss came to IRAQ to Investigate.  I assume that my Bosses Boss was asking as an HR rep, I was asked numerous questions that were at best offensive to me.  My team members were also interrogated about my behavior. we have a team of myself and three individuals.  This has usurped respect for me.  The allegations were all false or lies.

Questions asked for example included:

Did you ever make obscene gestures to an individual in the team

Did you ever push anyone in the hallway.

Did you ever lean on someones desk to try and intimidate them

Did you ever call a team member a Mexican.

What are my rights, this was on I believe form a team member who wanted to get me fired.  I have lost confidence in the Managment and The HR for handling this so unprofessionally.

ON the HR site it states " Employee complaints of employee abuse  made in good faith will be held in confidance".

Waht about the NON good faith lies perpatrated by this individual.

Do I have a right to get a copy of those complaints. ?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The best advice I can give you (and you most likely won't like it), is to sit tight during any investigation, let it play out. If the complaints are false, then the investigators should come to a reasonable conclusion. The biggest risk here is the risk of retaliation by you (real or perceived) against the complaintant during an active investigation. Even if the original complaint proves to be false, any retaliation would be easier to prove and most likely be your down fall. It is difficult to be the target of a complaint, but the process of investigation should bring the correct result.