Termed EE still calling current EEs

One of our ee's recently resigned.  She has started calling one of our other ee's even though there has never been a personal relationship between the two of them, simply a working relationship.  Is it HR's job to contact the former ee and let them know that the current ee wishes they would stop contacting them or is this an adult situation that our current ee needs to handle on his/her own?

Please help, I am a newbie in a new company and need to set some ground rules and precedence.  Thank you very much.

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • is she trying to recruit them to her new place of employment?  If they don't want to talk to her, the current employees can be adults and take care of it themselves.  It is VERY easy to confuse being a good HR person with being a "mother."

• That is what I was thinking, let them handle it.  She is not trying to recruit her just talk to her.  Thank you.
  • I agree that the HR person does not want to be the company Mom. In this case, it seems the one receiving the phone calls could handle it. The only thing that might concern me is if the calls were excessive or made the employee feel unsafe or as if he or she was being harassed. Then I would have to consider if the company has an obligation to step in because it is happening using the company phone system. Maybe I'm just overly cautious.