Salaried Employees Working On Vacation

I am a Human Resource Manager responsible for Leave Monitoring and Administration at my Company.  Salaried employees as we know, are not compensated for hours worked, but for the job that they are doing, allowing them to be paid for partial days worked.  What happens when a salaried employee is on vacation for one or more days but, answers email and/or works on projects?  It would seem to me that we have to give them back that vacation day, as payment for work done in accordance with FLSA regulations.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

It raises the question then of how we avoid reimbursing salaried employees who may need to call in and check in to their job regularly, like certain IT people, CFO's or CEO's.  We do not offer Comp time as a means to make up for time lost.  Does anyone have a policy about that at their job?

Comments

• 19 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I didn't think the FLSA has rules governing vacation.  Can your salaried exempt employees take time off without using Leave time, say for a dental appointment?
  • We are a small company where almost every officer is solely responsible for an area.  If they check emails, etc. on vacation, they may chose to make it up with unofficial "comp" time.
  • Most people let it slide.  Technically, they are in violation about letting it slide.

The FLSA is quite clear about this where it defines the salary basis of pay.  You have to pay salaried individuals the same amount each week without regard for <insert laundry list of things for which you can't deduct from salaried pay> except for full days of absence for personal reasons other than sickness except where such illness related absence is handled by a bona fide sick pay plan.  Therefore, technically, when a person paid on a salaried basis does any work for the company on a given day, they are supposed to be paid their base pay for that day.