EE Investigations

Hello I'm new to the world of HR Management in the retail industry, and one of my weaknesses is in the area of investigations. Does anyone have any resources they would be willing to share that details how to conduct an effective investigation regarding harassment, misconduct, etc.  My email any resources to

evaus2imageyahoo.com

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • FindLaw has a great checklist for Sex Harass investigations that could be modified for other types at :

http://smallbusiness.findlaw.com/business-forms-contracts/form2-39.html

• If you are a member of this website (hr.blr.com), they have some white papers, checklists, training guides, etc. about harassment investigations. 
  • SHRM also has some good white papers on investigations.

• BLR as well as Thompson's Publishing has some great guides to employee investigations. I worked in Employee Relations and you really need to make sure you have solid documentation during the investigations and that witness statements are signed and dated by that person. Best of luck to you.

Angie

HR Director 

• One other thing to remember is that courts will look more favorably in your direction if you start the investigation within a timely manner.   A couple of recent court cases I have seen talked about this being with in 24 hours of you learning about an alleged incident.  The courts say you have a duty to investigate and that duty means investigate it now and not when you feel like it or when you get time.  Starting the investigation right away shows that you are taking the allegations seriously and want to get to the bottom of the issue.