PHR vs SPHR or both?

I'm currently an HR manager and I am trying to decide which test to take.  Someone told me that most companies ask for PHR.  Now does this mean that they specifically desire PHR over the SPHR or does having the SPHR automatically mean that it's better than the PHR and it's well over the PHR requirement that companies ask for?  Is the PHR a totally different skill set than the SPHR? I have thought about taking both tests and wonder if that's the best way to go.  I'm only assuming that the SPHR is more valuable than the PHR due to the title of "Senior," and wonder if taking the PHR would be redundant if you already have the higher certification.  Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

Marv

Comments

• 19 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'm also interested in what people have to say on this subject. Also, is the online SHRM Learning System a good resource to use for preparing for one or both? Will I learn what I need to know using it?
  • Marv and Barbie - I have spent the last month or so looking into this because I want to take the certification in May.  From what I have found the SPHR supercedes the PHR as it is the Senior.  The choice to take the PHR or the SPHR is dependent on your years in the industry and the knowledge that you have acquired.  I believe the SPHR is recommended for those that have more than 5 years of experience and have a more strategic HR management knowledge versus the basic everyday HR knowledge.    By more strategic I mean - the people that are making policies and making decisions that impact the overall business. They have a "seat at the table" and have the ears of executive management (should be a member of executive management).