exempt emp. still getting paid

We have an exempt salaried employee who has been with us for less than a month working in the state of GA.  He received an injury (non job related) and has been unable to work for over 2 weeks now.  His doctors note, just received today, states he is unable to work indefinately.  He does not qualify for FMLA due to his length of employment and he does not qualify for ADA due to not being able to perform the essential job functions.  Unfortunately, our company which is relatively new does not have short term or long term disability policies yet.  According to the DOL we must pay exempt employees for absences due to sickness or disability but it doesn't say for how long.  I am brand new to this position, less than a week, and walked into this mess.  Any assistance or guidance would be very appreciated.

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • http://www.dol.gov/elaws/esa/flsa/overtime/cr4.htm  Directly from the DOL 

"Deductions from pay are allowed:

Once the employee has used up all sick time from the "bonafide plan", you can stop paying any days where the exempt employee does not work at all.  However, if the employer is calling him at home as a resource, that would count as working.

In all of my reading, a 5-6 day sick plan per year is considered bonafide and the DOL allows for a plan to be bonafide even if there is a period of time in the beginning of employment where an exempt employee is ineligible to participate in the sick plan....

"One permitted deduction is:
    ...Deductions for such full-day absences also may be made before the employee has qualified under the plan, policy
    or practice, and after the employee has exhausted the leave allowance thereunder. . . .
    .." from http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/opinion/FLSA/2006/2006_09_14_32_FLSA.pdf