Better Vacation Policy

I am new to my company which is a Landscape Supply & Garden Center with anywhere from 50 - 175 employees (depending on the time of year). Currently our Vacation Policy is as follows: 0 Vacation Days your first year of employment, 5 Vacation Days after your first year, 10 Vacation Days after 3 years of employment and that is it. No opportunity to earn any more than 10 days of Vacation regardless of your length of employment (only when the General Managers feel like offering certain people more vacation time and sooner than the policy states - is that setting precedence?). Now that I'm on board my boss and I are desperately trying to re-vamp & better the current Vacation Policy. The GM's and one of the owners want more info to consider anything including what the industry standards are. I can't find anything about the Landscaping Industry (distribution) anywhere. We only offer benefits (of any kind) to Full-Time/Year Round Employees - the Seasonal Employees are out of luck!  I personally think an entire year is too long to wait for any paid Vacation time and then to only receive 5 days for 3 years......thumbs down from me. Any suggestions? Oh, and we are in Illinois if that helps! And we only get 2 Sick Days per year too - I'd like to renegotiate that if anyone has any ideas for that subject as well!  Thanks!!! :)

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • When I started with my company 4 years ago we got 5 days after 1 year, 10 days after 3 years, 15 days after 8 years, and 20 days after 15 years.  We just recently revised the policy, so now we get 10 days after 1 year, 15 days after 6 years, and 20 days after 15 years.  I too agree that 1 year is a ong time to wait for vacation-it has been a big issue in hiring quality people.

We get 3 sick days after 1 year, 5 sick days after 2 years, and 10 sick days after 5 years.