MySpace v FaceBook

My son told me this weekend that if I plan to use a social website for looking up applicants, I should use MySpace for nonexempts and FaceBook for managers and execs. 

Has anyone heard anything like this?  I haven't been on either site, but was considering it.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I had never heard of this theory before and I am not an expert on either website ... but I would tend to disagree with the theory.  Up until recently you needed to have an email address from a high school or university to sign up for FaceBook.  The rules are changed now and everyone can sign up.  But how many experienced managers and executives are you going to find on a website that was restricted for so long?  I think the demographics for both websites are changing, but right now I would say they both trend strongly toward younger demographics.
  • I heard a story about this on NPR yesterday. Apparently, the sense is that because a university email was required to sign up, FaceBook had a more highly educated, professional membership. Even though the restrictions have been removed, the story suggested it still had this reputation. It would seem that it could be a better option for college and graduate program recruiting. However, I really haven't used either site to any significant degree for recruiting purposes.
  • I wonder if people think that it's really fair to screen candidates this way? On one hand, it can give you insight into who someone is but on the other...it seems to be a way to judge someone for their out of work behavior...seems to be almost the same as  judging an applicant because he or she goes to certain parties or likes certain music. what di you all think?