Comments

• 17 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I thought long and hard about responding to this. I am not trying to be rude or ugly, but what exactly is this supposed to do for me? Or anyone in NO? What about Biloxi or Dauphin Island? They didn't have barriers to protect them? Are we somehow responsible for that destruction as well? Why don't we all do something helpful instead of pointing fingers? My place of employment has adopted a school that took in 400 extra students this week. We are also a collection point for Red Cross.
    Besides, the NYTimes article states they were suprised about the 17th Street levee breaking as it had just been upgraded with "vertical concrete wall several feel thick." And this was the levee that had received the "most attention".
    I'm not an engineer (obviously) but I can't imagine any man-made construction would have withstood the wrath of Katrina.
  • Dianne,

Everyone I know is having a hard time finding the words to describe the storm and its aftermath. Your reaction to the tragedy is to be commended and hopefully it will be duplicated a million times over by all caring people.

Your questions and observations are all good ones and I don’t pretend to have any answers.

I hope that you don't think that I was being rude or ugly by posting the articles -- there are several more out there this morning in a variety of publications. I posted the articles without comment because while one had to know that it would only be a matter of time before the situation was politicized; I just didn’t think that it would happen so soon and while I don't know enough about the situation to have an opinon -- I was anticipating that others might.

Geno