'68 Democrat Convention

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 08-25-04 AT 04:57AM (CST)[/font][br][br]Most of you probably were not alive, but, for those who were, do you remember what you were doing or where you were when you watched television to see Mayor Daley's Chicago police force bashing heads and spraying mace? x:=| I was lying in the Cleveland, Bolivar County, Mississippi Hospital in traction for a back injury as a kid. I was a kid, not a republican or a democrat. I laid there and watched Dan Rather get punched out and watched the gestapo antics of the Chicago police department. Where were you and what do you remember?

Comments

• 30 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Oh Don, I was a college freshman at the University of Hawaii and at a sit-in against the war in Vietnam, a peaceful one. 1968 was Bobby Kennedy being murdered and also Martin Luther King. So, the democratic convention rather paled in my memory. Transferred to the University of Wisconsin and most know the history there. I really don't remember Dan Rather being punched out in Chicago! There was so much going on.
  • I remember seeing Bobby Kennedy shot on television and (football player) Rosie Greer forcing his large way through the crowd to get to his side. I was in college too. I remember Parchman State Penitentiary sent two long black buses to our school on the days of protests just as a signal to the kids of where we might wind up if we 'got out of hand'. I will never forget Walter Cronkite's voice each and every night giving Westmoreland's headcount for the day.
  • Don - I was still in my crib,but I remember viewing the TV thru the slats in the side.