Year End Event/Company Holiday Party

I am a Human Resource Manager for a company with about 25,000+ employees. I've been given the initiative to review our holiday party in terms of cost, time spent planning and organizing and overall participation. On average, about 55% of our employees company wide attend the event. I've been asked to make a proposal - do we cut the event or keep it. Can you tell me if your company still has a holiday party and if so, is there a cost per head which can be spent and do you have any guidelines in terms of 2 drink tickets per attendee, venue (i.e., hotel vs. convention center), etc...

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • We still have our holiday party. We have 1200 employees and about 1/3 of them attend the holiday gathering. This past year, we had to increase the price to employees($25 each), who may bring one guest (also a $25 charge). It's a full-course dinner, soup to dessert, with carafes of white and red wine on the tables (no refills). We do three dinner choices (beef, fish, chicken) and accommodation can be made for anyone who has a special dietary requirement. Our function is held at a large local banquet house, renowned for its atmosphere and food.

There's a social hour with hot and cold finger food before dinner (attendees are on their own for the libations) and then dancing to a live band, which we hire for the evening (we provide dinners for them also). A photographer we hire takes individual table pictures and candids all evening (we later post these in our Cafeteria, and employees can have their pictures).

We've already booked the same place for this year's holiday party.