holiday pay for part time employees

I am new to the forum and this is my first time posting a message. I am an HR Generalist for a health care practice with 50+ employees.

I am wondering how other people handle holiday pay for part time employees. We recently started using part time employees (work only a couple of days a week)and I am unsure how to structure the holiday pay as a benefit. Can anyone offer some suggestions on how to structure this? Thank you for your time!

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would guess most emp/ers do not provide holiday pay for part timers, but you free to adopt whatever policy you choose if you want to provide the benefit. I know a few emp/ers who provide it at pro rata (40% for a two day a weeker), and some provide it if the holiday occurs on a day they would otherwise be scheduled, but there are no federal laws which mandate holiday benefits.

Welcome to the forum!
  • Shadow is right on. I have worked with both scenarios. If you do not have one, I would suggest that you have a written policy outlining who, and with what criteria, are eligible for Holiday Pay. In talking to peer groups, the overwelming majority do not offer this benefit to part-time EEs. (Normally working less than 32 hours)

Welcome to the Forum!!!
  • Our part-timers (manufacturing) that work 20-39 hours per week get 4 hours (instead of the 8 that FT'ers get) of holiday pay regardless of whether they're scheduled to work or not. I am one of the PT'ers, and I really appreciate it (although I do work 5 days a week. I appreciate it because we used to get nuthin'). It is kind of a payroll nightmare to try and figure out if X person is scheduled to work Y day and whether or not to give them holiday pay if you go that route.
  • Our part-time employees receive holiday in the amount of their normal work schedule. Most work 4 hours per day, therefore, they receive 4 hours holiday pay. We are an insurance company.