Exempt Status/payroll - losing my mind.

Hi, I'm new to the forum. I am a librarian who became an HR manager 5 years ago when the public library needed an HR person and didn't have the money to hire one. At that time we doubled our staff in a month. We currently have 101 employees, 1 main library, 8 branches,a bookmobile, myriad problems and a director who's looking at retirement. My major role now is to keep us out of court. So far I've beeen successful, but the new FLSA exempt rulings may do us in.

Here's the problem(s): Our labor attorney just decreed that all our librarians, including Department Heads were NOT exempt! Since we are small enough for the director to know everyone, their reccomendations regarding hiring/firing, etc. don't carry "particular" weight. We meet the salary criteria, and the advanced degree criteria (all have Master's degrees) We depend heavily on their exempt status to run the library with a minimum number of non-exempt employees. It also complicates our payroll tremendously because we pay semi-monthly on a salried basis...and pay up to the actual payday. (we don't hold back any time) I know, I've tried to get this changed. There is NO software that will project pay. Since paychecks have to be generated in time to be signed by a board member and distributed, we often project pay 2-3 days, or even a week! We currently pay 40 hours for a 37.5 hour work schedule and NEVER pay overtime. The county is talking about changing to 37.5 hours worked and 37.5 hours paid. We'll have to deal with overtime...on a system that is set up for salaries???? We really need to convert to every other week and hold back a pay-period. I'm in WAY over my head. Any help, guidance or prayers would be greatly appreciated! I've already suggested they hire a REAL HR person.

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added