Any Salaried/Non-Exempt Experts?

If you are hired to work 47.5 hours each week for a fixed salary but receive a portion of your pay for anything over the 47.5-yet your general job duties would not even initially classify you as exempt because you spend 85%+ of your time doing manual labor, is this an incorrect classificiation to begin with?

It's a retail environment, and the empoloyees are called Department Managers, but they don't receive commissions or have any real managerial duties.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'm no expert, but will take a stab. This sounds like an inappropriate classification to me. The employer, in my estimation, should be paying time and a half for hours over 40 if paid hourly, and at least an additional half-time for hours over 40 if paid a guaranteed weekly salary. Retail and food service are notorious for calling people managers when they're not managers.
  • In checking some "regs", it's the employees actual duties that matter not title. exempt means exempt from the minimum wage and overtime provisiions of the FSLA and in order to qualify as "exempt" ee's must meet the requirements of two tests: (1) duties test and (2) salary test.