In house payroll and HR software

I work for a non-profit agency, and we are facing major budget cut backs. We are currently outsourcing payroll and HRIS with ADP. I have been asked to research bringing payroll and HR "in house". We have approximately 150 employees. Does anyone have a product they are using that they are pleased with? If so, could you include the approximate yearly cost. Thank you. Just needing a place to start.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Yikes. The idea of bringing payroll inhouse comes up occasionally and I fight it like crazy. I am no expert in this area and ADP is. (We use ADP too) I am happy to get the training I need to become an expert, but that means other areas would not have my attention. It also means we would take on some liability that we currently pass off to ADP.

Curious to see what the other forumdudes and forumettes have to say.
  • I suggest you shop around first. We used to be with ADP (we have 600+ employees), and we switched to Paychex and cut our payroll processing costs by 79%!

Bringing it in-house doesn't necessarily cut your costs to a level lower than outsourcing - think of the filing and reporting regulations, as well as the IT component.

Check with Paychex - they were significantly cheaper for us. You may also consider employee-leasing, which may cut not only your payroll costs but also cut your benefit costs (AND enable you to cut HR staff). There are a lot of small EE-leasing companies you can get some good deals with!

Good luck!

• Ask the following: Have the powers-that-be compared the potential savings of outside PR processing costs vs. the potential liability if a tax payment is made late or a tax form filled out wrong?

Our monthly processing costs are about $ 250 - for 30 employees using an outside PR processor. One screw up with a payment or form could easily cost us more than the yearly processing fee. The processing costs are money well spent.

Chari