Exempt Employee Question

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 04-30-03 AT 10:07AM (CST)[/font][p]Our company gets paid bi-weekly, so a salaried exempt employee receives a paycheck for 80 hrs.

We have someone who called in sick, however, still had over 80 hrs in. Therefore there was no need to enter PTO time.

This supervisor does not get along with the employee and put the PTO time in for unknown reasons. Another issue in and of it self.

Question is, even though an exempt person called in sick, if they were already at the 80 hrs, is it legal for us to add an additional 8 of PTO time even though they are not compensated for it?

I'm new to HR in this company and it seems that they treat exempt salary employees like Hourly. They have to clock their time and if you work 100 hours one pay period and 78 the next pay period, you would be expected to use 2 hrs of vacation to get you back at 80 for that pay period.

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 04-30-03 AT 08:48AM (CST)[/font][p]I'm not quite sure what you mean by "over 80 hours."

Under FLSA, the exempt employee's salary may be docked for a full day's absence due to illness or injury if the employer has a compensation mechanism to cover the salary that day for that type of absence (the employee just has to be sujbect to that mechanism: this could be paid sick leave or a disability policy, for example).

In short, since the emplyee called in ill, the docking of pay was appropriate. The use of PTO (which usually covers absences due to illness or injury) to cover the day's salary based upon the supervisor's authorization is consistent with FLSA but would be dependent more on what company policy permits on use of accrued time benefits without the employee's request.