FMLA leave for the grandparent of adopted child

Hi to all - This is my first time with a question but I have been reading the "Forum" for several months and love it. I am a Vice President of a Flex & COBRA Administration Company in charge of our HR Dept. I started with our company 16 years ago as a Service Rep. in our group insurance brokerage business. We have since sold that department. Therefore, my background is in employee benefits.

I have a valued (not key) employee whose daughter and her husband will be adopting their first child in a month. Our employee (the grandma) wants to take a week off to help take care of her grandchild as well as to offer support and emotional comfort to the new parents. Our Company has an unwritten policy, for the department in which this employee is a supervisor, that no employee can take any PTO during the time she will need to be with her daughter as it is a very busy time of the year for our business.

In reading the FMLA regs it appears that her leave would not be a FML leave since the leave is for the birth or adoption of a son or daughter. It does not mention "for a grandchild".

Has anyone experienced this situation and, if so, did you grant the leave under FMLA?

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • This does not qualify as FMLA for the grandparent BUT you MAY want to think about giving some time off to the grandmother (maybe a day or two) although I wouldn't grant a whole week. I would also require them to use any available vacation, PTO, whatever. If they are out of their time then you could look into granting one or two days of unpaid time but I would require verification of the adoption.