Diabetic night shift worker

I have a night shift employee with a doctor's note requiring that he work day shift. I don't have any openings on day shift. What is my best course of action?

Comments

• 18 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would be curious as to the reasons why. Does one's sugar elevate more in the night-time?
  • I would ignore the note. Whatever an office visit costs in your area, that's what the employee paid for the note. This helps to illustrate the arrogance of the profession.
  • I thought the same thing. I have some experience with diabetes, and I know if it is uncontrolled, it doesn't matter what time you start work. I don't have anything available, and I know that I don't have to create a position for him. So, we will see what he says when I talk to him later. I think that he thinks we will just roll over. Not gonna happen! Thanks for your help.
  • I have a diabetic who also brought notes from the doctor saying she could not work the night shifts. I clarified this with our company physician who indicated that in extreme cases this type of accomodation is necessary. It has something to do with the quality of sleep needed for the patient, and night sleep is best. Our physician did say that usually this is not an issue unless the patient is not taking medication or eating properly. We accomodated this employee and moved to a middle shift. BEWARE after about 6 months she brought a note recommended that she work only mornings. When the doctor was asked for a medical reason for this, she replied it was the patient's request, not a medical necessity.
  • Both her physician and the company's should be politicians. "Night sleep is best". I'll tell that to all my third shift guys who'd rather fight than switch.