Another FMLA Question or Two

Hello everyone. Please be pateint with me as I do not post often, nor am I as an owner, 100% up on this area (FMLA). I admit I am not an HR expert.

Anyway, I have a fewquestions. We have a PTO system here whereby employees accrue paid time off anually for the entire year, on an annualized basis. The total bank of hours can be used anyway they want, 100% for vacation, or 100% for sick time or a combo of both (we hope for this option. Anyway, we have two employees here that due to their tenure, have an additional week of PTO hours. These two people took vacations and sick time this year. One of them had a minor car accident that now requires many many doctor visits, so she is over her PTO. The other has a pre-existing condition (LUPUS) that requires doctor visits, but all of the sudden she has gone over too. Here are my questions....

1) Other than granting additional time off for these doctor appointments for both of them, without pay, anything else we can do as punishment for excessive absenteeism?? anyone think we can suspend them a day or so without pay and be ok under FMLA?

2) I have seen other threads that talk about putting people on FMLA with forms, etc. is there some sort of letter you have to send for this, etc? you as employer can elect to place someone on this (FMLA) without their consent? where can i find some more details on this?

Comments

• 14 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sounds like you may have a small company. Federal FMLA only covers you if you have at least 50 employees within a 75 mile radius. Would you qualify? However, even if you don't qualify for federal, your state may designate other types of leave.
  • we are small in the office (13 employees) but i think ew get nailed because we have field staff that exceeds 100 people. no state rules apply.