Need WC help

I am new to the complicated world of WC, so please bear with me in this post.

We have an EE who injured his knee (bumped it on a machine) 1 1/2 years ago. He is STILL on light duty (doctor says he must have a "sit down" job). It's rumored (by talk on the floor) that this light duty may continue for 1-2 more years. The way he's been milking this I am somewhat inclined to believe that rumor.
His normal position is as a set-up technician for our molding machines. Our rate of pay for a set-up position is $12/hr. The only "sit down" job we have is in foaming...those positions start at $8/hr. We've been paying him his usual $12/hr wage since he initially filed for WC 1 1/2 years ago, but it's killing our budget to continue to pay him that type of pay for foaming.

Questions:

1) Must we continue paying him the higher rate of pay? Any options here?

2) Is there a limit to how long "light duty" can reasonably last? This seems excessive to say the least.

P.S. We are located in the state of TN.

Thanks in advance for your help everyone!!!

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Talk to your W/C carrier. It seems very excessive to allow this to go on for this long without having some type of end of healing or PPD rating.