Restricted duties

Hello:

We have a facilities employee who hurt his knee. His Dr. is out of town. He doesn't want to see anyone but his Dr. Do I have the right to restrict his duties until he sees a Dr? What if it takes a long time (a month...) to get in to his Dr.? Do I have a right to make him get an exam? How will this impact his claim? For example, if I restrict his duties and it takes weeks for him to be seen will workers comp cover the lost time? This employee has made several claims. The claims range from one that took years to settle to minor incidents like swallowing an olive pit. He has a history of refusing treatment. I'm new to HR in Vermont and haven't done any HR for years.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. The director of the organization is out of town so I have no guidance!

Thank you.

Comments

• 13 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I don't know what Vermont's WC law states but if he were in WI, I would immediately send him to the local ER/Walk-In clinic to be evaluated. At least then you have some idea as to the extent of his injury and if he chooses to go see his doctor AFTER that, that's his choice. I would NOT make any assumptions regarding his ability, or inability, to work without having seen a physician; especially based on his history. If the physician feels that he should be restricted, then follow accordingly but don't make assumptions. Even here in WI where employees have a right to choose their physician, we still maintain the right to have them initially seen at an ER/Walk-In since it CAN take a while for them to be seen by their treating physician.
  • Thank you for your kind reply. Our employee is refusing to go to ER or any other Dr. We ended up calling our lawyer. Thanks again.

• Out of curiosity - what advice did the lawyer give?