FMLA Basic Questions

I'm sure that my questions have previously been addressed on the Forum, unfortunatley I'm new to all of this so forgive my repetition.
We are Texas based and realize that we need to get our FMLA in order - this hasn't been maintained properly to this point.
Question: If the ee does not notify HR that they have an FMLA event, what process do we establish to cover notification to initiate the FMLA leave? The DOL notification form that we have is "ER Response to Ee" - but if the ee doesn't request the leave is that the appropriate form to use?

Question: What is the time frame from learning about an FMLA event to sending notification to the ee?

Question: We have self-subsidized STD - so everytime someone qualifies for that does it automatically qualify them for FMLA?

Question: Can anyone provide me with a copy of their FMLA notifications &/or letters that I could use? (e-mail [email]afox@moroch.com[/email])

Thanks so much.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added

• Unfortunately as of right now, it is the employer's responsibility to notify the EE in writing of their rights and also of their obligations in regards to FMLA. The response is supposed to be given within 48 hours of being notified that there may be a qualifying event. We provide a Physician Certification form with that notice and advise that the leave is pending until the certification is received. When the leave has been approved or denied, we send out the ER response again stating what the EE's rights and responsibilities are.

• In answer to your questions, recent court rulings have stated that it is the employer's responsibility to designate a FMLA qualifying event. If you have enough information that you can make a reasonable assumption that FMLA may apply, you should be sending the paperwork immediately. The timeframe when the paperwork should be sent out is as soon as you are made aware of the situation (or as soon as reasonably possible afterward).