FMLA & Reduction in Workforce

Ok, here goes! I am only in my 2nd year with HR and am learning, learning, learning! I have been viewing this forum for the past 6 months and it has been so helpful to me! I decided to go ahead, take a deep breath, "bite the bullet" and post because I need some advice quickly.

It is my understanding if an ee is on FMLA leave and if reduction in workforce or terminations take place; it is ok as long as the actions had nothing to do with the leave and the actions were going to take place anyway.

My situation is concerning 2 FMLA ee's on pregnancy leave. They have had their babies and are not due back to work until the 1st week in March. I learned last week that the dept they work for is going to be downsized for economical reasons. The managers involved would like meet with all ee's to discuss what the company's plans are; and then schedule meetings to reevaluate the ee's individually to assist in their decision on which ee's would remain. They want to do this well before the 2 ee's on leave are due back to work. I do not feel comfortable in notifying these 2 ee's to come in to meet their managers concerning the downsizing of their dept and then ask them to come back for an evaluation meeting BEFORE they are due back to work! Any suggestions?

Many, many thanks!

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You are correct regarding the termination of an employee but each employee, regardless of whether or not they are on leave, has to be granted an opportunity to meet with the manager and have an evaluation. If I'm understanding your posting you are implying that these decisions will be made prior to the employees returning from leave and these employees will not have an opportunity to meet with the manager, correct. If this is the case then you will have a problem if it is determined that these employees are to be among those terminated.