PHR?

Is PHR the way to go? I have a BA in business. I am new to HR and would like to give myself credibility in the HR world. Is a PHR the best way to go? What other designation is there?

Please move my posting if I'm in the wrong place.

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I have a BSBA in Finance, and I went with the PHR. I plan on sitting for the SPHR in the next few years, though. For now, I'm relishing not studying for anything!

You can also get certifications in benefits, compensation, etc. Just do a search for "human resource certifications" and I'm sure you'll end up with tons! I, personally, would recommend staying with the HRCI designations.
  • For those interested in academic training, there is also a MS degree available in employment law. I'm almost one year into the 2-year program and have found it to be very insightful and beneficial. It is, however, a degree, which means going back to school, and runs around $20,000. Of my current class, 17 individuals from around the US (all online courses), 2 have SPHR, none have PHR, and several (including me) are planning to test for PHR when the classes end.

From sharing class assignments, the knowledge and experience the SPHRs bring to the table is impressive.
  • Hello,
    I don't post often, however I do read posts every morning, it keeps me sane! I am interested in what online school you are using for the MS in Employment Law Degree. I am considering finally completing my degree (Business Administration) I am thinking this will complement and possbily help with some of the credits that I need. Thanks! If you cannot post the name of the school feel free to email me [email]lisa@tbmpayroll.com[/email] . thanks and TGIF.
  • I too would like the scool information. [email]carole.owen@bgfh.com[/email] Thanks