claims of hostile work environment

I am posing this question for a friend since I have no experience with this situation. Sorry for the long post, but I thought more information would solicit some helpful advice.
The Company is headquartered in CA with branch offices in 6 states including IN where my friend is located. He is the director -- boss of this office, and has one in-office employee, the office manager. He hired her. After 4 months, the HQ office required a sexual harassment training per CA law, via phone and PowerPoint presentation. Soon after that (within a week or so) she began complaining to HQ about the "hostile work environment" he created for her, and how uncomfortable he made her with comments and personal remarks. She said she was asked to do things not within her written job description. She gave an example of comments: that he complimented her on the way she looked, and that he prefaced it by saying, "I know I'm not supposed to say this, and I'll probably get in trouble but you look particularly nice today." He told me he told her that because he knew she was going through a bad time with her divorce, her sick kids, her boyfriend -- all information unsolicited, but shared with him -- and she had been dragging and looking sad recently. So much for trying to be nice. I kept telling him he should not be casually giving her "free" days off all the time -- a benefit she took great advantage of up until this accusation. HR at HQ called a conference with the two of them, via telephone where she, for the first time disclosed to him that she felt she was in a hostile work environment.