i quit

I work in a hospital as Human Resource Director. I had three complaints from CNA's, all african american, older women, regarding discrimination, preferential treatment and harassment by one RN. I presented the complaints to administration as a possible liablity to the hospital. The CEO said that if I had time to listen to complaints, I must not have enough to do. I asked hiim to clarify that what I was hearing was correct, that when three african american older CNA's come to me with complaints of discrimination and harassment, that he doesn't want to know about it. He answered that it was my obligation to report such things. I advised him that that is exactly what I had done and that I didn't understand why I was being reprimanded for a job well done. He said that he didn't care if all of the CNA's walked out today ... that they're a dime a dozen. He then added to my Human Resource duties, credentialing duties and payroll duties the following:

Accounts Payable
Administrative Assistant

Five jobs for one person ... You guessed it ... I'm a one man band - the only person in the administrative office other than the billing coordinator, CEO, CFO and the CNO.

So I quit. Now ... do I really want to go back into Human Resources? Wal Mart is looking really good these days.

Thanks for the sounding board.

Comments

• 31 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The only important factor here is whether or not you can comfortably live with the decision you have made. Nothing else matters. I support you. Hooray!
  • He sounds like such a lovely person!

You were not a Human Resources Director. You were a dumping ground for all the stuff that no one else wanted to do and they didn't want to hire someone to do it. So...give it to Human Resources.

Good for you! At least you can look at yourself in the mirror every day!

• Don't feel bad or regret it your decision. It's their loss!