formula for employee turnover

Can you provide me the formula for computing the employee turnover rate.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • The one I use is Total number of available positions divided into the Total number of employees leaving the company times 100. Problem is finding a constant number of positions available. Most people use an averaged figure for that. The other dilemma is deciding which 'leavings' to exclude. Do you exclude retirements, leaving during orientation, deaths? If you want a pure rate, don't exclude any. But, If you want to analyze certain things you may want to not have certain departures cloud your analysis.

So, If I have 167 jobs in this plant and 9 people left during the month, the rate would be 9 divided by 167 X 100 or 5.389%.

You may want to do a search of this site for the topic 'turnover rate'. We've had good discussions.
  • Since I'm not good with numbers, could someone please tell me how you would compute a turnover rate for the YEAR? I understand the monthly turnover rate concept but someone is asking for a yearly turnover rate and we're having quite a discussion about how to do it and we can't come up with the answer. Thanks.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 01-12-05 AT 08:49AM (CST)[/font][br][br]If you had 100 positions and lost 10 people per month, all year long, your monthly rate would be 10% each month and your average monthly rate would be 10%, but your true annual turnover rate would be 120%, since the number leaving equalled the total number of positions. And if one of your corporate beancounter types asked what the total turnover for a 24 month period was (and don't put it past them), you'd tell him 200%, not that he could do anything with that information.

That's why it's best to look at turnover as a 12 month moving average, which averages your turnover each month during a never-ending 12 month rolling period.