Hippa

What do you do when an employee is really sick and is in the hospital. At my company, normally an announcement is sent out i.e. so and so had a heart attack and is in the hospital. please keep the family in your thoughts. Is this a violation of Hippa? Most of the time before the announcement is sick half the company already knows. The announcement is only sent when it is something sudden like a heart attack, stroke, etc. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Yes, it could be a violation of HIPAA. Someone has to complain first.
  • Thanks. I thought it might be. Thanks.
  • While I am no HIPAA expert, I would not continue this practice unless the employee authorizes you, in writing, to release his or her PHI to those whom are not on a need to know basis. I believe without their consent you are in violation of HIPAA. Isn't this where the accountability portion of the act comes into play?
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 09-03-04 AT 02:03AM (CST)[/font][br][br]It is not a HIPAA violation unless you are releasing information that came through or via your medical plan; and, I seriously doubt the medical plan was your first notice that the ee was in the hospital as a result of a heart attack.

We are learning as time goes on that HIPAA is not quite the booger-bear it was anticipated to be. Although your practice of sending out announcements advising of the precise diagnosis is rather tacky, I do not think it would violate HIPAA. I would suggest toning it down to simply advise that "John is hospitalized at Mercy Hospital in room number 812 and we anticipate he will be out for a few weeks. His phone number is 662 plus his room number."