Thoughts and Opinions Please

Hi Everyone,

It's been a while since I posted, however, I am not a newbie but a fellow poster that has changed her screen name and as you read this post, some of you will recognize me.

Anyway, here goes - sorry this is a long one.

Back at the beginning of the year, my father was terminally ill and finally passed away in May. Two weeks after that, my boss came to me and told me that

1) I wouldn't be getting a review which was due because there was a perception in the office that I didn't do any work. I had taken quite a bit of FMLA time.

2) In order to stay with the company, I would have to modify my work schedule. I work 3 days a week from home because I have a 2 hour commute one way.

3) If that didn't happen, I would be looking at a demotion and a possible salary decrease.

That alone is enough to demoralize anyone, especially since I just went thru a very difficult loss. On top of that I was told that our company may be sold and if that was the case, I would be looking at a layoff because they don't allow telecomuters and there is no way I could do a 4 hour commute 5 days a week.

Since then, I've been looking for jobs in my area but as you know, they aren't easy to come by. Our company has been sold, but nothing more has been said to me about being terminated.

I just don't know which way to turn. I'm finding it very difficult to focus on my work. I'm supposed to be going for training with the new company which is confusing because if I was going to be let go, why would they send me for training? Should I say something to the head of the HR department for the new company, should I keep my mouth shut and fly under the radar screen until I find another job???

Help!

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hi Jewel-

I'm so sorry to hear about you father and you will be in my thoughts.

Sorry to hear about this difficult situation at work too!