Travel/Work Time

Good Afternoon, It's been a long time since my last post, I am relatively new to HR, 2yrs and in the Banking industry. I was wondering how others out there handle Non-Exempt EE's when they are scheduled for an out of town seminar. If the seminar is from 8:00am to 5:00, if they are using a company vehicle, do you pay the EE drive time to and from the seminar? Thank you in advance for your help.

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Gismo: If the non-exempt is in a company vehicle they get paid from the time they leave the location home or company parking lot or dispatch point when they are in the mode of driving or assisting in driving, navigating, maintenace, pumping gas, communicating with the dispatcher or anything that is physical labor. If they are a passenger and doing nothing but riding there is no requirement for payment until they start the seminar now they are on the clock. Less the lunch period. Meals and resting facilities are an expense and paid by the company, by perdiem or by the receipt amount and reimbursed. The return trip is like wise on the clock until they get to the vehicle parking lot or their home.

I hope this helps! Some companies are more liberal with what they authorize but the time in and out for the driver and worker is required by FLSA.

PORK
  • Pork: Are you sure about the rider? I thought if the employee reported to the office then went to the seminar, he was on the clock - rider or driver. If the ee goes from home to the seminar, then he is not paid until he arrives at the seminar location, but the driver is paid from beginning of trip. I didn't check the web site posted above, but when I find time I will, mayb e the answer was in there.