Unreasonable Employee Accusations

Greetings, Gang!
I have a new ee that in EVERY SINGLE contact with me (on the phone, during daily office business...) seems to dislike me so immensely that she speaks to me (I'm the OPS Mgr, she is a Part Time Hourly...) with such vehemence and disrespect. She was at a satellite location this AM, and I called her just moments ago to see how her morning went, if there were concerns, etc... she began to raise her voice, accusing me of 'Checking up on her' and having a hidden agenda, and playing games with her, tracking her, etc... I was REALLY just calling to see how her AM appointments went, and to verify her schedule for tomorrow. I was dumb founded & flabbergasted. I lost my composure, and really did not know what to say, hearing her yell at me on the phone. I have been a manager for 20+ years, supervising literally hundreds of ees. I have NEVER dealt with one person, that I was trying to be supportive and 'team' oriented with -- that reacted so negatively to me.
She is new, and has had many issues (kids, family, schedules etc... ) in the short time she's been with us. Maybe she's looking for a scapegoat, or a reason to quit or be fired. I am at a loss - I have never BEEN or ACTED any of the ways I was accused of being - how can a person real so strongly with absolutely no basis in truth to my ACTUAL attitudes, personality & actions? I know that PERCEPTION is REALITY to some folks, but I have never given her any reason to suspect my motivations - and she has accused me of this behavior at every turn.
Any ideas???
Lori in MD

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Are you her direct supervisor or department head? If not, what department is she in and how does it interact with Operations?

Talk to her supervisor (if you're not her direct super) and see if they are having similar problems with her.