possible red flag??!!

Hello All,

I need some help/advice on a potential problem. I work in a hospital. Last week one of our nurses tripped and fell on a long telephone cord, hurting her knee. We sent her to the doctor and filed a subsequent worker's comp claim since she missed a couple days work. The attending physician indicated she was fine and could go back to work, and signed a release form stating just that. Well, she came back to work Saturday and said someone opened a desk drawer on her knee and she reinjured the knee. (the fact that the drawer was opened on her knee was disputed by a witness) She also said she had to lift a heavy patient and that put even more strain on her knee, (also disputed) stating she could not come back to work for a few more days. WE sent her back to the same doc and he said he believes she is okay to work "light duty", which we do not have a policy for. The doc stated what she can do and for how long he recommeds she remain on light duty. My question is do we take her back since we do not have a light duty policy? I am afraid if we do, she might injure herself again. I also might add, that the administrator wants her gone. She is a problem employee to start, which has not been documented other than word of mouth, so I will not sign off on a termination until that is done. I'm sorry this is so long but I needed to explain the situation with as much detail as possible. Your suggestions would be much appreciated!!!!
Judy in Covington, LA

Comments

• 17 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Are the accomodations requested by the dr reasonable? If so, it may be best to bring her back and begin to document carefully. If you terminate now, it looks like you retaliated against her for the WC filing.
  • I agree with Denise. Also, get thee a light duty policy!