Revenue question

I was just curious....I am rather new to HR and I am still trying to get to know the industry. I was wondering if anyone works for a company that the HR department does some sort of service that brings in revenue.

Just wondering...let me know.

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 03-31-04 AT 03:05PM (CST)[/font][br][br]The concept was tried at my company, but was a huge flop and abandoned. We separated out a "services" company that included HR, IT, Finance, Safety, Marketing, Facilities, maybe more, and we "sold" our services to other groups in the company. We (HR) charged a "care & feeding" amount for each group based on headcount to do the day to day HR stuff, but extras (training, running extra reports, etc.) cost extra. We had to keep separate timesheets for billing purposes. It was cumbersome and created a lot of ill-will with the other groups. At first there was a rule against self-performing but after a year or two, internal groups could go outside of the company for services if it was better or cheaper (we never got to that point). The idea was that eventually, we could sell our services externally, but we also never got to that point with the exception of one or two projects for the Safety group. As I said, it was a failure and we've been brought back as one company.
  • It seemed like a good thought.

I really appreciate your response.
  • HRJENN: Welcome to the Forum and the best there is on the net.

I am with a private company and there are three ways for my department to realize revenue: