Verification of past employment

I am fairly new at this whole HR thing so bare with me please! If someone calls you to verify past employment on a former employee what are the laws? Can you say both positive and negative? Only give dates of employment? Can you tell them if you would re-hire them? Please help!

Thanks for your input!

Chispity, in AR

Comments

• 17 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • While sad to say, it is usually best just to confirm that they did work, the dates they worked, and what their job title was. I personally feel it is okay to say if I would rehire - IF they ask me that question. I don't EVER volunteer ANYTHING. I think I have the right to answer that question.

It really depends on your corporate policy. Do you have one in place?
  • No, we don't have a policy in place. I have always been told that it is best to just give the specific dates. I have always been a little stumped however, when they ask if I would rehire. I feel that if I say no to that question then that person may not get the job, when in actually there may be many reasons why you would not rehire.

Thanks for your input.
  • Eligibility for rehire is a benchmark used by a lot of employers to judge an applicant. I tell callers that I don't release any information without a signed release from their applicant. A release will also give you a form and the opportunity to provide more comprehensive (truthful) information.
  • IF I have a signed release, I'll tell them anything that is:

Documented in writing,
    True to the best of my knowledge, and
    Relevant (IMO) to future employment.

The state of Missouri provides very specific protections to you if you follow these guidelines.
  • When verifing past employment I answer the rehire question with "they are eligible for rehire" -- if in fact they are eligible for rehire. That way I am not on the hook for promising to rehire someone that may be have better competition during the interview process.