Am I Paranoid?

Hi Everyone,

You've all been great with your responses to my posts so I now turn to you for help with a situation I'm in.

I've been working for my NY employer for 4 years. I'm originally from CT and will be relocating back to CT for family reasons (I need to care for my dad). I've offered to commute back and forth to the Island daily which was accepted. I was even told that they would do whatever it takes to keep me on. Then my boss suggested that I telecommute 4 days a week and only come in to the office 1 maybe 2 days a week if I was needed which I, of course, jumped at.

Now as the days count down to my relocation I've been getting the "signals". I asked to have a meeting with my boss and my CFO to talk about the logistics of how everything will work, computer, payroll, telephone, etc. My boss and CFO had the meeting without me and I was told that I'll need to sit down with my boss and a accounting clerk and go over all my job responsibilities "since I won't be in the building that much".

Is the "writing on the wall" or am I just being paranoid. I wish they would just be up front with me.

Thanks...x:-(

LFernandes

Comments

• 19 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Don't know if I can do more than sympathize, but I can see why you feel paranoid. I'd do what they asked, and set up the meeting with my supervisor to figure out the details before I got too worried.

Good luck, wish I could telecommute.
  • Good advice to sit down and talk with the boss. I'd just say I was concerned that this meeting that involved me and my work schedule was held without me and I'd like to know if this arrangement that had been agreed upon was still acceptable. You never know how these telecommuting things will work out until you actually put them into place.