How to evacuate people with limited walking in an emergency??!?

We have an employee who is developing serious and chronic health problems and while we are supporting her in her work and in time off to help her get the care she needs, there is one issue where I have no experience.
The woman is extremely overweight, by a couple hundred pounds I'd say, and her new health problems include a leg infection that impedes her movement, and another that requires her to carry a portable oxygen tank. During our last fire drill I had to insist she go -- she was was just going to sit it out because she didn't feel she could make the steps. It made me realize we are woefully unprepared to provide for her evacuation in a fire or other building emergency should her condition worsen, should she become wheelchair bound, etc.
I imagine there are resources that can help me think about how to operational this. Anybody have any suggestions? Does anyone have wrritten policies or procedures about evacuating folks who require assistance?

Carol

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • There are special emergency evacuation wheelchairs. I only know of one manufacturer: [url]www.evac-chair.com[/url]. I think at least one of these chairs was used at the World Trade Center--the company bought them after the 1993 bombing when one of their employees had to be carried out.

Some office buildings have a “safe room” that is supposedly fire/smoke proof for a given period of time, and in which persons with a mobility impairment are supposed to wait until help arrives. Many persons with disabilities do not feel safe waiting in a “safe room” and would prefer other arrangements.