rant - letters to applicants

Not really a question that I expect many answers to . . . more of a rant, but . . . WHAT is up with HR people NOT responding to applicants & resume responses to open advertisements??????????????????

I really hate this.  I currently work as a stand-alone full-service HR guy for a small/medium size company and I am busy as hell but if I put an advertisement out for an open position I ALWAYS send acknowledgement letters to respondents.  They get 1 letter confirming that I got the resume, and another letter when I have filled the position or closed the search.  Granted, there have been a few times in the past when I got behind and the last letter didn't get sent until a month after the fact, but I felt guilty as hell for it.   I just always assumed this was common practice.  Basic manners!  It is plain rude to not do so in my opinion.  It doesn't take that much time to craft a general letter that can be individualized for the situation.  People who actually make it to the interview stage always get something even more personal from me if they don't make the cut - a phone call if possible, a detailed letter and encouragement if not. 

It's one thing to recieve a random resume when you weren't looking - in those cases I usually don't respond.  But if I put an ad out - then I'd better be prepared to answer to people inquiring.  I was lucky enough to only have two jobs in the last 15 years, so I haven't had to endure it myself very often, but I'm in a situation now where I need to start and the lack of courtesy is astonishing. 

I have to know, is this just an LA thing?  Are people just lazy and rude here, or is this everywhere?  What is the norm?  And if you don't acknowledge job seekers, how can you defend your laziness?   [:@] ; grrrrr

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added