Off-cycle Payroll Runs - Best Practices?

Hello!

I am a business analyst in my company's payroll department. Like most companies, we are currently examining our processes to determine if we are being as efficient and cost conscious as possible. I was hoping to get an idea from many of you what your companies may do in terms of best practices.

I work for a large organization. We are a multi-state employer. Regular payroll for nonexempt employees is paid weekly. Our exempt employees are paid monthly. For the most part any type of special payment (supplemental compensation) for our nonexempt employees are paid on the regular weekly payroll. For nonexempt employees, we do not issue many off-cycle checks. The only time that we would run an off cycle for a nonexempt employee would be if there were a financial hardship caused by a missing check, payroll error, etc.

However, we do run quite a bit of off cycle payments for monthly paid employees. It seems that there is some sort of off cycle activity occurring every day of the week for various reasons. Obviously this is NOT efficient nor probably the best use of resources. We are currently investigating why our off cycle volume is so high.

I have some questions I hope some of you will not mind answering to help give me an idea of what other organizations are doing.

**Is your payroll done in-house or outsourced?

**What pay frequencies are used in your company (weekly, semi-monthly, biweekly, etc)

**What is your off-cycle payroll policy?

Thanks so much!

Ann

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [quote user="payrollba"]

**Is your payroll done in-house or outsourced?

**What pay frequencies are used in your company (weekly, semi-monthly, biweekly, etc)

**What is your off-cycle payroll policy?

Thanks so much!

Ann

[/quote]

Outsourced.  Whenever I'm somewhere where it's not, I can generally make the case that it should be.