Employment in HR Question

I have a Masters in HR and a BS in Education.  I am seeking a HR position in SC, but haven't had much success.  Most of my experience is with small companies.  I am a determined, dedicated, and hard-working individual seeking a chance to prove my abilites.  I keep hearing that I have too much education for an entry level position and not enough experience for an upper level position.  If anyone has some advice that can help me, I'd be very appreciative!

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • They, the gatekeepers, often read a lot into company size as well.  If you go from small to large, they assume you wont be able to deal with the bureaucracy and more rigid processes and if you go from large to small, they assume you won't actually roll up your sleeves and do any work or you wont be able to "just get things done" because it's not laid out for you in P&P manual somewhere.  That's a tough divide to cross as well.  Are you looking for other small companies?

It's hard to break into management ranks until someone gives you a shot simply because managing teams is different from completing tasks and there's no good way to know if you will be successful at it until you try it.

• My recommendation would be to try to highlight the experience you have and also showcase the knowledge you have of HR laws in SC.  I would also try to find out what the major areas of concern for that company are and then talk about your experience/education in those areas. Show them that you can help them in these areas.