Drug Testing and Background Checks...

I am very new to administering a Drug-Free Workplace in Central Florida... What are the issues and solutions regarding limitations on applicant drug testing? If I feel that someone is not doing drugs, is it mandatory that I test? 

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hi Jimmy --

Drug testing is done for a lot of different types of reasons.  Has your Company just now implemented a drug-free workplace policy?  If the policy has always been in place, how was it administered before?  Do you have a written policy on drug testing?  When do you drug test?  Upon hire?  Reasonable suspicion?  Accidents?  Random?  Some or all of those?  Others?

Here is a blurb from http://www.uschamber.com/sb/business/P98/P98_05_1075_FL.asp

Florida's drug-testing law is contained within its workers' compensation law — a law covering employers of four or more, except in the construction industry where the law covers employers of one or more. Under the law employers may voluntarily implement drug-free workplace programs designed to lessen the frequency and severity of work-related injuries. If an employer implements a drug-free workplace program that includes notice, education and testing for drugs and alcohol following the rules for testing developed by the Workers' Compensation Division, the employer may require that an employee submit to a test for the presence of drugs or alcohol and, if a drug or alcohol is found to be present in the employee's system at (or above) a level prescribed by law, the employee may be terminated and forfeits eligibility for medical and indemnity benefits. In addition, the employer is eligible for reduced workers' compensation rates.