Good HR Training for Employees?

Hi there,
I am an attorney in Seattle and I'm looking to find some good HR (general) training for some of my clients. They own businesses that have HR staff but they aren't very well trained. On-line, I see a lot of sort of "traveling roadshow" type trainings through "train up", Career Track, Fred Pryor, etc...

Can anyone speak about how these seminars are? Also, if there are any you know of that are REALLY good, please let me know! My clients are looking for something local (Seattle-Tacoma) and in person.

Thank you for your help!

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I live in a much smaller city, and I know of at least 2 consultants right of the top of my head who live and work locally. I am sure Seattle has the same. I met my local consultants through the local SHRM chapter. I recommend you contact your local chapter and see if they have any consultants in the organization.
  • I have attended the traveling type of seminars over the years, presented by various providers including Fred Pryor/Career Track.

Some of the training has been much more basic than others, but I've taken away useful information from every one I've attended. The seminars I've gone to have always been well-attended and well-presented.

I would suggest that you or your clients keep an eye out for one they might like to try. I think that's the only way to find out if they serve the purpose they are looking for. I noticed that Career Track is offering an "Essentials of HR Law" seminar this month in Seattle. That's one that I would attend if I had the time and may look for to see if it's offered again at a future date because it sounds like a good basic class and also good continuing education for someone like me who's been in this field for a long time.