Need help/suggestions on Drug/Alcohol policy

I'm trying to develop a Drug/Alcohol Policy, and am using several policy "go-by's" (including HR Hero) to help develop our policy. As a federal contractor, I'm required to comply with the Drug Free Workplace Act. The act specifically does not require testing. I'd prefer to avoid testing, but it looks very difficult to do so. Hence, my first question:

1. Does anyone have a drug/alcohol policy WITHOUT drug testing?

Since current illegal drug use is not a disability, as defined by the ADA, termination can be a legal option. For alcohol, I'm confused at what is grounds for termination, and what is not.

2. When is an alcohol-related event NOT an ADA disability, and something we can safely terminate?

3. What alcohol-related events can be terminable offense?

Any words of wisdom here are definitely appreciated!

HR Hat

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I have dealt with alcohol abuse at previous companies, and the legal advice I was given is that being under the influence or consuming alcohol on the job is a terminable offense. The ADA protects a recovering alcoholic from discrimination because we have knowledge of his past, may require accomodation in time off to attend meetings or even absence from work for occasional lapses (within reason), but does not protect being intoxicated on the job.

In one case, after numerous complaints from other workers and an ultimate admission that he had a problem, we required one employee to sign an agreement that if any supervisor/manager suspected he was under the influence at any time, he would be sent for drug testing. A positive test would result in termination. I'm not familiar with your regulations, but even if they prohibit random drug testing, they may permit testing upon reasonable suspicion.

This is the policy at my present company, which was written by attorney and I think is pretty comprehensive:

"Drug/Alcohol Free Workplace