What's appropriate for the Forum?

2»

Comments

• [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 01-07-04 AT 12:42PM (CST)[/font][br][br]I swore that I would not put my nose into this issue any more. However, after reading your post I felt the need to clear the air.

I have been visiting the Forum for over 2 years. When I respond to a question, I try to be concise and give the correct information. I never thought it might be taken as berating the person asking the question. There have been times when a question or problem is posed that sounds exactly like a term paper some college student needs to get done. That's the time I will tell the questioner(?)to do his own research. It's not berating. We are not here to do someone's homework. We are here to HELP other professionals with their dilemmas.

As for playing in the sandbox, I think of my colleagues as my fiends and or friends. As for strangers, I do what my mother told me many, many years ago. DON'T TALK TO STRANGERS!

Thanks AJ.
  • Ritaanz - I got the first smile on this long post after reading your note. I love the freudian typo:
    "I think of my colleagues as my fiends"x:-/

That was funny, and truly nothing behind this beyond just saying thanks for giving me a smile!th-up
  • Rita, don't know ya', but wasn't referring to you either. Sorry if I offended.

I believe there is a big difference between saying, "Do your homework" and saying or insinuating that someone's question is worthless or a waste of the forum's time. My point is, just don't reply if you think someone has posed a stupid question, rather than telling them what you really think!

Re the stranger issue, didn't know I needed an invitation to the club to post a comment, but I'll ask for permission next time.
  • Ya know, people who throw stones should not live in glass houses. If the next sentence isn't condescending.... or are you going to tell us its was supposed to be funny???