Late for an Interview

As an HR professional I was late for an interview. I am in Memphis, TN and my contact is in Cali. He sent me an email with the address and contact for the interviewer but no phone number. Over the weekend I looked for the address and found what I thought was the correct building. Early and prepared, I arrived to the wrong place (same address but different street...it was very confusing. I spent hours preparing for the meeting and even am preparing a Powerpoint presentation as part of the second stage in the game. I met with the interviewer and he was light hearted about my tardiness ( the company had move as well and the address ultimately was wrong). The interview went OK in my opinion... He was not a very good interviewer. He was only asking me if I had questions through most of the meeting. His only meaningful question was "SO TELL ME ABOUT YOURSELF?" and of course anticipating this, I made a grand slam on my response. Do you think I have lost any chance of redemption? I really want the opportunity and have prepared well with research etc. Please give me your real, TOUGH, honest HR opinions. And anything to move myself back in the top running for the job.

Second Chance In Memphis.

Comments

• 15 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Redemption from what? You say the interviewer wasn't miffed because of your late arrival and he even explained that they had moved and given you a wrong address. My honest opinion, since you asked, is that you must focus on the positives and your excitement about the prospect of a new job and feel good about your credentials...........rather than obsessing over what might have gone wrong or what might happen if you get rejected.