Affirmative Action

I am new to this HR position and I have been informed by the Office Manager that this organization does not need an affirmative action policy. When I inquired as to why, she didn't know but was informed by the previous Human Resource Person that we didn't need to comply. I've tried to find out if this is true and have been unlucky locating any information. If anyone has ideas as to where I should go for informtion or if we should be in compliance, I'd appreciate your input. We are located in New Hampshire.

Thanks!

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I have a manual written for "Employers in the South" covering Alabama and Mississippi by Aspen Publishers, Inc. Customer Service 800-234-1660. That has answered a lot of questios for me - also a beginner.

Call them and see if they have a manual for your area.

From what I have learned it is not a requirement of employers with under 50 employees. Also to further that, unless you are a government contractor you dont have to have a written affirmative action plan. So firstly, if you dont work with the government and have less then 50 employees you are not required to have a plan.

The only exception I have found to that is if you have had a complaint filed against you and then you might be required to have a plan...depends on the out come of the case.

• Also, banks are generally required to have Affirmative Action Plans. (Some type of government regulation involved).

Good Luck!
  • Affirmative Action is a federal requirement of government contractors or sub-contractors with employees over 50 in a 75 mile radius. Be sure that someone you do work does not hold a government contract.