Reimbursing and Paying Correctly

[font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 11-12-04 AT 11:01AM (CST)[/font][br][br]We have two exempt salaried employees who worked at a branch office. Management closed that branch but has retained the two employees. Employee #1 drives a company truck (we pay for the vehicle, insurance and gas), and Employee #2 commutes in her own car.
Here's the situation: because that office no longer exists, our two employees routinely come to our office, a drive of approximately three hours one way, to work here. (Sometimes they work from their homes.) Both employees are being reimbursed for motel expenses, but Employee #2 is receiving nothing for mileage. She is also not being paid for the time spent travelling.
Sorry, folks, I have NO payroll experience and am just now starting benefits training. What are we doing wrong? Should we be paying them both to travel to and from our office? What mileage reimbursement should Employee #2 be receiving? Help-help! and thanks in advance!
Linda
PS: Employee #1 is a guy, #2 is a woman. Just how much trouble might we be in?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • My first question - why does only one have a company car?

2. What exactly does "routinely" mean?
    3. Is 100% telecommuting an option?
  • When that office was open, Emp. #1 would visit jobs and deliver construction material. He still does that from time to time.
    Routinely means that the employees come to our office to work when they are told to. There is no set pattern. If they are needed here, they come. Some projects are very complicated and require supervision, and when those projects come up, they travel. A simpler or smaller project is usually done at their home and they communicate by phone and email. (They estimate and quote construction jobs.)
    Telecommuting isn't an option (I've asked).