Timekeeping Methodologies

I am new to addressing timekeeping methods and am reviewing our methodology for calculating paid hours of work. I have encountered a process issue, the correct use of calculating work hours, and the most appropriate method for employer and employees for receiving pay for work. Currently, I use a time clock for non-exempt personnel. We manually calculate hours worked from the previous two complete week timecards. I pay on the 15th and the end of the month (24 pay periods).

I have been told that due to 5 week months in a year, the standard pay period is 86.66 hours versus 80 hours.

I have spoken with several persons who indicate a couple of methodologies exist to accurately calculate and pay the employee but no one could show me in writing the various methods. Each method varies from 24 or 26 pay periods and the work calculated by work performed/earned or work projected (if pay is calculated prior to the 15th or end of month).

Is there a standard methodology to calculate wages appropriately? Is there more than one method - if so, what are they? Is it possible to designate a set day (e.g. 2d & 4th Friday), then pay for the two prior complete weeks? What happens when the month has 5 weeks in them? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated as I have to resolve this before the end of the month?

Thanks.

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I would suggest that you change to 26 pay periods. You say you are paying people for two weeks at a time. If that is true, there is no way you can have 24 pay periods. 24 x 2 = 48 weeks instead of 52. It is much easier to pay two weeks at a time, which is an even 80 hours, and would equate to 26 pay periods. We pay every other Friday for the two weeks ending the prior Sunday (which allows you processing time). For example, our next pay day is this Friday, 1/18. We will be paying people for the two weeks ending 1/13 -- the week of 12/31 & the week of 1/7.

Hope that helps!