Paying an exempt employee overtime

I have an exempt employee (still classified as exempt) but who began to receive overtime in July, 2000. I don't think the overtime was authorized by the department director. I believe the employee is still legally classified as exempt.

The employee is now asking for payment of overtime hours worked prior to July, 2000. What is your opinion on this matter. 1) If the overtime WAS authorized, do we have a legal obligation to pay the overtime prior to July, 2000, even though he is classified as exempt and meets the tests for exempt status? 2) If the overtime was not authorized (which I don't think it was) can we admit we made a mistake and put the employee on notice that he is an exempt employee not eligible for overtime?

I'm new to this organization and there is very little documentation files.

What would you do in this case (I will be seeking the advice of an attorney)?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • If employee is truly exempt, where did the term overtime come from in the first place? We lucky exempt people are expected to put in more than 40 hours as necessary...whatever it takes to get the job done. If exempt employee truly goes above and beyond, how about a special bonus?

At this point it sounds like your situation could be bordering on a real problem, depending on the employee and his/her perceptions. Any chance of negotiating back to exempt pay status??

• The first thing I would do is look to the trigger point which may have changed the exempt status to non exempt. However, I would suggest you review the FLSA standards for "exempt" to see if the employee meets the tests. In some cases, professionals like "engineers" may in fact receive ot and still remain exempt. You didn't mention what position this employee currently holds or held at the time of change. Lastly, why would payroll pay ot not authorized? Good Luck