COBRA HELP

I am also new to the COBRA world and I am looking for major help. I have read many of the other posts and would still like some better information about the entire process.

I understand the initial notice ***Which if anyone has a good copy I would love to have***

I also understand the termination election notice. Is this all I need to be sending out, I read that there are 7 forms ??? Do I need to send all of those. x:-/ I am sure I have started to sound like a broken record :-S, maybe it would help if those willing would just step me through your COBRA process? :-?

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 07-22-03 AT 03:40PM (CST)[/font][p]There are numerous "notification" events.

1. Initial notice (don't forget to send this if an employee acquires new dependents after his/her initial enrollment date).

2. Notice upon Qualifying Event (when the employee and/or dependents lose coverage on the group plan).

3. Notice to plan participants at the time of the Plan's Open Enrollment.

4. Notice of Conversion/End of Coverage Period. 180 days prior to the date coverage is due to expire, you must sent a notice to that effect and advise participants if there is a conversion option available at the end of the COBRA period.

5. (Department of Labor Proposed Regs effective 1/1/04.) If an individual applies for COBRA coverage and is not eligible. In this “event” a
    COBRA Notice of Ineligibility must be sent advising such individual(s) that they are not eligible for COBRA coverage.

The following are not "required" - but highly suggested

6. Information at the time a Second Qualifying Event occurs during a period of COBRA coverage (such as divorce, etc.)

7. Information in the event of a Total Disability Determination (which gives plan participants 29 total months of coverage).