Vacation Benefits

We are a small company with less than 100 employees. I am new to this company and believe that we need to change our vacation policy. Right now we give no vacation to employees until they have completed one year of service. After completion of one year they are given 10 days vacation. After six months of employment, they can borrow up to 5 days of vacation from the 10 days allotted in their 2nd year. The BNA survey only gives number of days of vacation after one year of service. Every company I have worked for accrues vacation on day one of employment or begins accruing vacation after 6 months of employment. I would like to know what other companies our size are offering their employees. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Although it is difficult to say that there is a rule of thumb for any size
    company, I think it is more common to begin accruing vacation during the first
    year than waiting until a year has passed. There is no law on this one way or
    the other, but beginning to accure vacation early on helps in recruiting and
    retention.

John Phillips, Tennessee Employment Law Letter

• We employ about 175 employees and have a paid time off (PTO) system. New employees start earning PTO upon hire and become eligible to use it after the successful completion of their introductory period (90 days). Our employees earn 15 days their initial year. I hope this helps.

• 1. Full-time new employees are entitled to one-week (five days) paid vacation earned at a rate of one day for each full month of employment, beginning with the first month from date of employment through the fifth month of employment.

2. Full-time employees with one year of continuous service, but less than five years of continuous service, are entitled to two weeks (ten days) paid vacation each year, earned at a rate of two days per month beginning on the employee's anniversary date.